Confession: I am Obsessed with Victoria’s Secret

As I’ve been quiet for a few days, I thought I’d share another of my articles for The Daily Touch with you. This is one of my favourites, and is, as the title suggests, all about my rather worrying obsession with Victoria’s Secret.

In fact, just yesterday I ventured into their Bond Street store to ooh and aah at their latest collection of goodies, like I do most times I am anywhere in the region of, er, London…

This article was first published on 24th November 2012 by The Daily Touch: http://www.thedailytouch.com/style/fashion/confession-i-am-obsessed-with-victorias-secret/

Confession: I am OBSESSED with Victoria’s Secret

victoria-secret-angels-victoria-secret-fashion-show

As the title suggests, I have a confession to make. I am more than a little bit obsessed with Victoria’s Secret. And, I’m not even sorry. The annual show finally took place last week, and will air on prime time TV in the states on December 5th. Needless to say, I will be streaming online at 3am.

But I’ve already devoured all the pictures and followed all the models on Twitter, hoping for an Insta-update. I was there on the first day of the Westfield Stratford opening, desperate to get my hands on some goodies, then prancing off with pride swinging my candy striped bag. Oh, and then there’s the slightly ridiculous ‘train like an Angel’ workouts. Yeah I’ve tested those out too.

Bieber= Loving Life

Bieber= Loving Life

So just what is it about Victoria’s Secret that makes it the most captivating and widely publicised fashion brand of them all? As their CEO said, ‘when you’retalking about the worlds biggest fashion shows, there’s us, and then…..?’ Their selected models, or Angels, act as brand ambassadors and in the past have included Tyra Banks, Gisele Bunchen and Heidi Klum. I can’t be the only one with several girl crushes as a result of this year’s show. Victoria’s Secret also made the smart move of hiring of-the-moment Brit models Jourdan Dunn and Cara Delevingne to walk this Winter, keeping the Angel role-call at the forefront of the fashion world.

The shows themselves are more about the spectacle than anything else, with over the top outfits, giant motorised spinning ‘wings’ and performances from Rihanna and Justin Bieber. To be uber-critical, the show isn’t strictly a ‘fashion’ show. But can we really criticise a company whose 2012 sales were $6.12 billion? The models walk the runway with such confidence and individuality that makes a refreshing change from the deadpan looks of traditional fashion weeks. They are tanned, perfectly toned, but with curves in all the right places. Victoria’s Secret seems to have an acute awareness for understanding women and what they really want.

Doutzen Kroes, my most favourite Angel

Doutzen Kroes, my most favourite Angel

Their Bond Street store has certainly made a splash, with its bright pink walls sandwiched between well-established fashion royalty. The shop itself is vast, spanning four floors. The main floor is quite literally lingerie paradise. It boasts glittering mirrored floors, beautiful commodes, and framed pictures of scantily clad Angles adorn the walls. Step upstairs to find the ‘Body’ range: which is still far more sexy than any other high street basics range. Downstairs you can find the college-inspired Pink brand- their yoga pants are a particular personal favourite. Quite frankly, Victoria’s Secret have got it all covered. I could very easily blow a  happy wage packet within their four walls. Don’t believe me? Take a visit (it is worthy of an afternoon day out), and just try to leave without a pink carrier or three.

The Bond Street Store: Heaven

The Bond Street Store: Heaven

If you are still in doubt about the power of Victoria’s Secret, just take a look at the recent re-branding of La Senza. The company closed 80 stores in 2011, but have re-opened with a fresh image that reeks of VS. It seems the days of multipack cotton briefs are over…
Leave a Reply

