Style Icon: Blake Lively

Blake Lively: Style Icon.

Looking super hot and super casual.

Looking super hot and super casual.

As a new feature, and exclusive to my blog, I thought I’d start a regular stream of posts about people who inspire my style, and whose wardrobe I’d love to get lost in for a day. To make a start, I’m going to focus on the gorgeous Blake Lively.

‘I became my own stylist by not knowing any better’. Blake Lively.

blake lively street style

Now that Gossip Girl is finally finished (sob), I can’t help but look back and sigh at Blake’s amazing ability to put together an outfit that is both sophisticated and effortless. Her beautiful golden blonde locks, All-American nonchalance and recent marriage to the gorgeous Ryan Reynolds are all reasons why Ms Lively (wait- Mrs Reynolds) is the envy of girls the world over.

Blake-Lively-style

Blake is the Queen of casual style, tailoring, and managing to look chic when its blimmin’ cold outside. What I love about her style is the way she works smart, sharp separates, fitted blouses and coats, yet messes them up with her beachy blond hair and floppy, fun hats. I remember aged 17 I travelled to New York, and co-ordinated my packing with a Google Image page of Blake in the background. As I trotted along the Upper East Side, I genuinely thought I was in Gossip Girl.

So, how can you replicate Blake’s look? Blake is a lover of well-cut jeans, smart knee high boots, soft-coloured sweaters and a great hat are a good place to start. Add a tartan scarf and a denim shirt for bonus points and that elusive East-sider style. Oh, and a super-fresh good-girl ether doesn’t go amiss. Think you’ve got all that?

blake style

Scarf and Bag: Zara. Leather jacket: Whistles. Hat and Jeans: Topshop. Sweater: Uniqlo. Print Blazer: Erdem. Boots: Boohoo.

Enjoy. And Merry Christmas.

Ally

x

Leave a Reply

