FIRST LOOK: River Island High Summer 2013 Preview

photo (1)It will come as no surprise that, earlier this week, I jumped at the chance to attend the River Island High Summer preview. After attending their Spring Summer press day a couple of months ago, where I was treated to an abundance of exquisite cocktails, retro 90s tunes and more fashion than I could shake a ravers glow stick at, I was keen for round two.

And I wasn’t disappointed. Keeping with the 90s theme (I feel very old that the decade I was born in is having a REVIVAL), River Island’s High Summer collection is playful, vibrant, and just waiting to be worn by hot tanned, Ibiza bods.

As is always the way with River Island, the press day is a spectacular event to behold. The PR staff were friendly, helpful, and I was assisted by the intern. Dancers who looked like they had been born from the sand of an Ibiza beach set the scene, along with an ice cream stand and, of course, amazing cocktails. I helped my wide-eyed self to a vodka and champagne concoction, complete with what I was informed was ‘cherry caviar’. This was swiftly chased down by a hot brandy toddy which was experty flamed between two saucepans before my very eyes: impressive.

photo

What stood out to me, however, was the accessories. In the words of Craig Revel-Horwood: ah-maze-ing. Darling. I’ve got my eyes firmly set on a black leather cut work bag (pictured below). The shoes are also big news: these orange studded platforms (pictured above) stood out even across the sequin filled room. Jewellery, as ever, was a highlight. Golden over-body harnesses worked with thin, chiffon dresses. Arm candy was everywhere, ranging from full arm-length wire cuffs to extravagent chained bracelets and rings.

Compared to their main press day, the actually amount of fashion was far less. But, what I liked about the High Summer collection was the way in which each story was interchangable and, on the whole, very wearable.

River Island are obviously working very hard to develop their recent move towards a more ‘grown-up’ look. I can’t wait for the collection to go live in the stores and add my favourite pieces to my wardrobe!

photo (3)

 20130802highsummer6

20130802highsummer14

20130802highsummer15

20130802highsummer16

Ally

x

Bottom 4 images: courtesy of River Island.

Comments
One Response to “FIRST LOOK: River Island High Summer 2013 Preview”
  1. Jo Arvanitis says:

    Lovely Lovely Lovely!

Leave a Reply

